subscribe
ask Farnoosh
×

Ask Farnoosh

Ask Farnoosh about money, work, life, or a recent guest below and she'll do her best to answer your question during an upcoming Friday episode on So Money. Record a message below or type in your question.

Ask Farnoosh, Farnoosh Torabi

— To stream the interview click here.

— To download the mp3 right click here and choose “save as”

In today’s Ask Farnoosh episode…

Carolina

I´m 36, recently came back from abroad, a not yet working husband (he´s waiting for his visa), no children for the moment but planning to have one soon, my annual income is 100k, I don´t have any debt, just started a roth IRA and contributing to my roth 401 at maximum, 5% matched by my employer, I want to buy a house or condo in the near future and would like to make some investments.  I have some savings, around 30k in USD and EUR (in Europe), I don´t disregard to go abroad in the future due to my work, where do I start?!!

Meredith

Hi Farnoosh! I love your podcast–thank you so much for sharing such valuable information with us, and for making it fun! I am a grad student and working part-time. I am working to increase my income and get my finances in order before I graduate next winter and have to start on loan payments. Do you know of any in-person classes or financial support groups for young people in NYC? I’ve been doing a lot of reading, etc. on my own, but I think the next step would to find a community of like-minded individuals, for both additional motivation and accountability. Any suggestions? Thanks!!

Ursula

Hi Farnoosh!
<3 your show!  Listening to it has become somewhat of a habit. I started late with ret. savings (freelanced most of my life, & didn’t  know much about options I had) so I’m trying to make up for lost time now by contributing 25% of every paycheck (trying to max it) , & also fully funding a Roth IRA. But, 401k = no matching. Should I still keep hard at it, esp. since it does lower my taxable income, or if investing elsewhere on my own would be a better opt. Would love to hear your thoughts on it. Also would love to hear more on retirement for self-employee as a episode topic. thanks!!

Erin

I’m a 20 year-old college student, looking for ways to invest early. I am already setting myself up for great income upon graduation, but am wondering what I can do right now to grow my wealth. I have about $2,000 of unneeded savings sitting in a Money Market account at my bank, but want to be more aggressive. Also, do you have any tips for how to hit the ground running on wealth once I have a consistent salary? Thanks!

 

you might like....

Oprah Magazine

Saving for Retirement at Every Age

I joined Kathie Lee and Hoda on the TODAY Show to share my retirement advice for people in their 20s, 30s, 40s, 50s and 60s. I explain what you should be doing at each stage to ensure you’re comfortable and have retirement savings for when you’re ready to stop working.

Continue Reading

Farnoosh

Money In A Minute on the TODAY Show

I stopped by family at the TODAY Show to address three viewers money concerns when it comes to saving for retirement, emergency savings and house payments. Tamron Hall put me up to the challenge to give advice in under a minute.

Continue Reading